Redistricting Control

Post-2019 Redistricting Control

The 2019 off-year elections have changed the landscape for congressional and legislative redistricting control. Below are updated control maps for the 2021 redistricting cycle.

Congressional Redistricting Control


Legislative Redistricting Control


States with Republican Control (20):

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas**, Kentucky**, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Carolina*, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wyoming

* Governor has no veto over redistricting plans.

** Republican veto-proof majorities.

States with Democrat Control (9):

Delaware, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Virginia

** Democrat veto-proof majorities.

States with Split Control (10):

Connecticut*, Louisiana, Maine*, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New York*, Ohio**, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Wisconsin

* States require 2/3 majorities in both chambers to enact a map.

** Ohio requires votes from both parties to enact a map for 10 years.

States with Commissions (13):

Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Michigan, Missouri*, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio**, Pennsylvania*, Washington

* Legislative only.

** For the state legislature and as a backup plan for the Congressional districts.

The above information was prepared by Fair Lines America